PDA

View Full Version : 8500 0r q6600

Mr. Midnight
09-28-2008, 12:24 AM
im thinking of returning my 8500 for a qaud 6600 from newegg , never opened it up, did some research and im deciding on a better set up.

this will be my first time using FSX.

1. should i return it and get the q6600 or stay with the 8500.
2. if i get the Q6600 which motherboard and what kind of ram.
3. im looking to set up system to use only FSX, and i will be using XP pro 32 bit.

4. also im new to this sli vidio card, which one should i get for maximum performance.

5. on this set up i will be adding software, radar contact, weather , atc, wideview etc.

im wanting the main computer to be powerful.

as i said i just got the intel e8500 is it worth sending back or should i keep it and work with it.

6. if you folks say i should stay wuth the 8500. what motherboard and vid card.

i have vista on my laptop and it is possible for me to transfer vista on my new machine and load xp pro , on my laptop.

i have both operating systems .

im just wanting to set up my machine with the best that i can get so i can get back to some seriuos simming, i have been fs9 for awhile and im wanting to start using fsx now that they have cpu,s out there now that can handle it.

i got the 8500 thinking that was the best way to go, but now with the sp1 and sp2 for fsx , i have been told to go quad.

thanks.......Robert

PittsburghLever
09-28-2008, 02:53 AM
1. should i return it and get the q6600 or stay with the 8500.

Return the 8500 and stay with the Q6600

2. if i get the Q6600 which motherboard and what kind of ram.

Not too sure, but it should not be that hard to figure out. I think you can mostly use the same RAM, but I am not sure. I was considering Corsair Dominator RAM for myself.

3. im looking to set up system to use only FSX, and i will be using XP pro 32 bit.