View Full Version : He's baaaack...

Michael Carter
09-22-2008, 11:34 PM
...on e-Bay with his 727 'quadrant'.


No photo this time. I still think this is fishy.

09-23-2008, 01:58 AM
DAMN MICHAEL!!! now you tell me after I sent the guy the money already:( Now my beautiful 727 will never get built :( ! Instead it only looks like Im just being ripped off!


Michael Carter
09-23-2008, 02:12 AM
Man, you're just SOL!

Now, why doesn't this guy have pictures of an expensive item like this? No one in their right mind would buy something like this sight unseen.


I delt with a guy in the UK, who at this moment has a bunch of listings on the Boeing search page. I bought a 727 landing gear light plate with the Korry's from him over a year ago.

It took almost a month for it to arrive. Only later did I find out this joker didn't even have the part in his posession. It had to be shipped from the 'supplier' he had. No word of that in the auction.

Chapped my hide good on that purchase. I'll never buy from him again.


Folks, I've made a lot of good buys on e-Bay from Boeing suppliers who have earned my trust, but it only takes one time to leave a bad taste in your mouth for a long while.

Don't make an expensive mistake with this jackass.;)

09-23-2008, 06:03 AM
He's in Florida, Send Matt to check him out.

Matt Olieman
09-23-2008, 07:04 AM
I sent him a mail, asking to post pictures. That's the best I can do.... He's not exactly next door..... LOL

Thanks for volunteering me Andy.... LOL

Matt Olieman

Matt Olieman
09-23-2008, 07:56 AM
This is what I wrote him: "Could you please send/post picture of the complete
unit/items for sale?"

This is the response: "Sure I am at the hangar now and I will post it later thanks for the interest.

- swordfish45786"

Matt Olieman

09-23-2008, 08:03 AM
I wrote where are the images & why so much for an unserviceable item?

09-23-2008, 11:20 AM
I did the same Matt, and he told me ," I will be at the airplane today and I will take some photos. The throttles are removed from tail number N720DC". I checked it on airliners.net and its 727 bizjet, last photo (of only 2) show it in west palm beach in 2004

Michael Carter
09-23-2008, 11:27 AM
Here is the aircraft's complete ownership history:


Matt Olieman
09-23-2008, 11:32 AM
LMAO... we don't let anyone get away with anything.... LOL

The MyCockpit Rat Patrol LOL

Well it will be interesting....

Matt Olieman

Michael Carter
09-23-2008, 11:38 AM
He's now revised the auction starting at a penny. Last night it started at $300.

Still no photos, but now it's in 'servicable' condition. I wonder if he knows what an 1830 tag is.

09-23-2008, 12:08 PM
His feedback rating at 100% and 65 transactions can be misleading.... he only has 8 as a seller.

Has anyone with DIRECT experience with this guy alerted EBay to the possible "scam"?



09-23-2008, 02:25 PM
I belong to a car club forum (not as cool as MyCockpit.org) we had a lot of bad experiences from dishonest sellers and substandard parts. So we added a Bad/Good Sellers item to the forum.

As a group, we even busted people changing their eBay id's and trying to sell the same part twice. It is working well and sends a message to the dishonest people out there that we will not tolerate that type of behavior.

Michael Carter
09-23-2008, 11:15 PM
And we now have photos of this $1500 quadrant.


HAAAAhahahahahah!!!! What a POS!!!:roll::roll::roll:

Efe Cem Elci
09-23-2008, 11:41 PM
As removed? Serviceable?

I have my doubts.

09-23-2008, 11:44 PM
If these are current photos, he has not even pulled it from the plane. It's missing side plares, lightplates, throttle covers.....it is a POS not worth $200, just a parts quad

Michael Carter
09-24-2008, 12:22 AM
He's in for a big surprise if he thinks this thing just 'unbolts' from the floor.

09-24-2008, 01:21 AM
I have removed 4 quads and it can take up to 7 hours to do it right with only hand tools, and it is HOT work

09-24-2008, 02:22 AM
OK Who bought it? Bidding has ended for the item?????????

Matt Olieman
09-24-2008, 06:14 AM
OK Who bought it? Bidding has ended for the item?????????

It's been moved, it's now here: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260291510310

Matt Olieman

09-24-2008, 06:39 AM
I'm tempted to report him for scamming, but... I have not purchased anything from him much less a $1500. TQ thats broken down with no paperwork.

Matt, you're welcome. But you were supposed to go over there and 'splain it to him. :lol:

Matt Olieman
09-24-2008, 07:57 AM
I'm tempted to report him for scamming, but... I have not purchased anything from him much less a $1500. TQ thats broken down with no paperwork.

Matt, you're welcome. But you were supposed to go over there and 'splain it to him. :lol:

DAL900 is closer, and besides he's ex-cop with intimidation power!!!! :) :) :)


Matt Olieman

09-24-2008, 11:56 AM
EX-COP????? not me... I wish. They are killing me with all the presidental candidates coming here. He's not worth the 3 hr drive. I see a problem if he takes money before he pulls the quad. Like I said before, he's in for a suprise if he thinks that is going to come out easily. You have to soak the screws on the flightdeck in break-free for 3 days, go in the compartment in front of the nose gear to get to about 12 cables, undo the trim chain, cut the parking break cable, cut the trim cable,and more screws. The plane is built around the quad. Not trying to put the guy down, but based on what he has sold and bought, I bet he has got permission from someone at the airport to remove the quad and never done this before

09-25-2008, 11:04 AM
He has moved it ....again, and started bidding ....again at $300. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Boeing-727-Engine-Throttles-With-T-R-Levers-Quadrant_W0QQitemZ260291510310QQihZ016QQcategoryZ26439QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Michael Carter
09-25-2008, 06:22 PM
Ooooh, and D i c k Clark himself used to fly on it. :roll:

Maybe someone from the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame will buy it and display it.


Michael Carter
09-25-2008, 06:23 PM
Administrators might want to adjust the foul language filter.

Glad my name isn't D i c k.

09-25-2008, 10:38 PM
I know that he has been reported as a suspected fraud to ebay. We will see what happens.

Michael Carter
09-25-2008, 11:29 PM
I know that he has been reported as a suspected fraud to ebay. We will see what happens.

Probably nothing. In the past, I have sent notification after notification to e-Bay for sellers peddling fake Omega watches. They do nothing.

10-25-2008, 09:26 PM
Hi, All

I'm a police officer and we get these complaints every now and then. I gotta tell you, if we had someone come to us stating they just got ripped via E-Bay, there's not a whole lot we can do. Jurisdiction is usually a problem to establish. Then, getting a prosecutor to write a warrant for this is like pulling teeth. You'd be surprised how many of these deals that appear to be a clear-cut case of fraud end up being a 'civil dispute'. I'm not saying it's right. It's just the way it works.

By the way, statistically speaking, almost all Internet fraud cases are the result of a transaction on E-Bay, Craigslist, etc. etc.

Sadly, E-Bay won't do anything as long as they're getting their cut from the scammer. As me old mother says, "Everybody is happy as long as they get their cut."

Please don't shoot the messenger.

Fly Safe,