PDA

View Full Version : Rudder Hard Over Problem - On the Ground At least!!



ClipWing.com
09-01-2008, 03:13 AM
Hey guys,

I have an issue that crops up occassionally within FS9. Luckily this happens only on the ground and not in flight!! I fly mostly the Just Flight's Dream Fleet 727 but the problem also happens in PMDG 747 and 767 PIC as well as Fly the Mad Dog. Equal opportunity here.

The issue is I will get a uncommanded rudder hard over which can happen in either direction while on the ground. At first I thought it might be I had the A/P coupled and it was trying to keep me on course while I was taxiing for departure. That was not the case! Then I thought, humm, could it be the yaw damper? So I tried both ways - on and off while on the ground and the same thing would happen.

Thing is, it does not happen all the time. The times that it does, it tends to be windy and somewhat gusty. I fly with both MSFS weather and ActiveSky and it happens within both. If you watch from outside you can clearly see the rudder hard over and I correct to get back on the taxi way and it will do it again at almost the exact same intervals all the way to the runway. I can somewhat damp it out by leading with a rudder input just before it sequences again on me but it can become so bad it is virtually impossible sometimes to effectively control the airplane on the ground. If I make it to the runway and can get lined up for takeoff things will be fine until I land again and it starts all over again. There is no problem in the air..

I am flying with a Saitek X45 throttle and Stick system with rudder control on the throttle unit. I have downloaded the newest drivers that were available to it so not sure what the heck is going on? Has anyone had this issue and do you know a fix to it? Or should I give Boeing a call?? :)

Thanks for any help! :)

Jackpilot
09-01-2008, 11:26 AM
Just from memory, I think there is a setting in FSUIPC to suppress wind (actually wind vane) effect when on the ground. Could solve it maybe...

Bob Reed
09-01-2008, 11:33 AM
Also make sure you do not have more then 1 assignment for the rudder in FS or if you are using FSUIPC that there is not an assignment in FS. I had this problem once and that os what it was.

Michael Carter
09-01-2008, 11:36 AM
I've had this happen in the past, but not in recent memory. I believe I did a recal on the yoke or I just hit Number Pad '5' with the Num Lock off.

This recenters the X/Y axis so make sure your controls are at neutral before doing it.

It could be the wind too, but I never attributed it to the wind.

The Dreamfleet 727 is a mighty fine model. In fact, none better.

ClipWing.com
09-01-2008, 02:36 PM
Thanks guys for the info. I have done the recal thing and that does not seem to help it. I will mess around with things some more and see what happens. Thanks again for the info!

The Dream Fleet Model 72 is for sure a dream to fly!!

Thanks guys! :)

Trevor Hale
09-16-2008, 03:49 PM
Because it only effects you on the ground, I can't see it being a control function, thats why the keyboard center, or the joystick assignments cannot be the cause. If it happened in the air as well, then I would have to say thats what it was.

Good luck, and let us know.

Trev

AndyT
09-17-2008, 06:43 AM
How is your 'taxiway bounce' set? As you drive down the taxiway, the plane is programmed to hit 'bumps' where there would normally be lights or the cracks where slabs of roadway meet. How often are you getting these wild swings and is it dependant on which side of the centerline you are on? Could be that somehow your taxi 'bounce' has become wildly exaggerated.