PDA

View Full Version : Would anyone like to build me an FMP?



darrenkarp
11-08-2007, 06:49 AM
Hi all,

As my engineering skills are poor I was wondering in any kind soul would be able or prepared to build me an FMP. I'm based in London, UK.

Regards
Darren

Jan737
11-08-2007, 11:04 AM
Hi Darren

What'you mean with FMP?

Regards

Jan

darrenkarp
11-08-2007, 11:34 AM
an FMP is an acronym for full motion platform.

AndyT
11-08-2007, 11:40 AM
That is a large request. I'm guessing you are willing to pay for it?

dodiano
11-08-2007, 11:53 AM
I found this place:

http://www.flightsimulation.com/products.htm

And also this French Guy seems a cheaper option:

http://pagesperso-orange.fr/magie/IndexEnglish.htm

I think they could do ti for you! If Im not mistaken the First company is the motion platform of that 737 pit at opencockpits.com...

Regards,

Roberto

darrenkarp
11-08-2007, 12:35 PM
I was just thinking that someone who has built their own platform would like the challenge of building another for me. Of course I would pay as long as it was a reasonable charge on not that of the type commercially available.

Darren

AndyT
11-08-2007, 12:47 PM
Someone might....
What aircraft do you want?

darrenkarp
11-08-2007, 12:50 PM
I just want the platform. I'll add the seat and monitor, etc. to it. Something like what Thanos or Roland has done.

AndyT
11-08-2007, 01:31 PM
Single Pilot? Dual Pilot?
Small plane? Commercial Jet?
These things make a difference in how the platform is built.

Do you want the actual platform, or can you build from plans?

darrenkarp
11-08-2007, 02:40 PM
on the lines of what Thanos has done with the joyrider as I mentioned. Single seat. I don't intend to make it look like a real cockpit. I simply want the motion.

dodiano
11-08-2007, 06:15 PM
Regarding this post has someone calculated how much load would you need on a motion platfoarm to make a 2 Person for say 737 cockpit?? Like the one the Spanish guys have?? 1500KG Payload??

Regards,

Roberto

phil744
11-08-2007, 06:57 PM
When you say "build me a FMP" how built up do you require? Do you require to be "pay, then plug and play" i.e. fully built up to your requirements so all you have to do is just plug it in. Or do you require just the main fabrication work, i.e. chassis and all the welding doing and you will install the electrics and test it?

737NUT
11-08-2007, 10:40 PM
Regarding this post has someone calculated how much load would you need on a motion platfoarm to make a 2 Person for say 737 cockpit?? Like the one the Spanish guys have?? 1500KG Payload??

Regards,

Roberto


Depends on many factors like real shell, wood shell but what type of wood was used. I don't think i would trust anything less then 6,000lbs capable. If you go oversize, it doesn't work as hard and will last longer.

dodiano
11-09-2007, 01:09 AM
There was a guy that was making them for around $15,000 they could stand a payload of around 3000 Pounds which at the time I thought it could do the trick!! At the time $15K sounded a lot but actually it is a good price taking into account some systmes can go from the 20K and up!! Thanks for the Info you will really need to lift some payload then!!

Regards

darrenkarp
11-09-2007, 04:22 AM
When you say "build me a FMP" how built up do you require? Do you require to be "pay, then plug and play" i.e. fully built up to your requirements so all you have to do is just plug it in. Or do you require just the main fabrication work, i.e. chassis and all the welding doing and you will install the electrics and test it?

Simply a welded platform for me to add a seat, joystick and monitors. I don't need a canopy or any type of real cockpit as its simply the motion I'm after.