PDA

View Full Version : Today I'm trying to add 3rd PC to my Network



David Rogers
11-03-2007, 08:40 AM
Hey all,

Guess what? I'm after a teen weeny bit of help from the Network gurus again!

Today I am trying to add a newly acquired (used) 3rd PC to my Network and have come across a problem;

I connected the 3rd PC to my network, set up the IP address correctly, turned on File & Printer sharing etc.

The Connection is showing as ok, in my Network Connections (LAN).

However, when I try to access the 'MSHOME' network from this 3rd PC I get a Windows Error that states something like "Access to MSHOME network is not currently permitted from this computer".

I can confirm all the following in my troubleshooting;

Switch and it's Ports are working ok.
I am logged in as 'Owner' and this is set up as Administrator.
File & Printer Sharing is turned on.
TCP/IP is available on the preinstalled LAN card.Any clues as to where the 'setting'might be that is not allowing this PC to access MSHOME ?

This is the final link in my network - if I can crack this, I am flying! :)

Thanks in advance.

PaulEMB
11-03-2007, 08:47 AM
David,

I am no expert, but you could try to use the wizard to set up another network called something else.

Worked for me once.

paulj
11-03-2007, 09:30 AM
David

Could be that windows firewall is blocking your connection. Also were you were using a crossover cable before the introduction of the 3 pc? Make sure you have straight through cables and you are connected to a hub(switch/router etc).
You can also try going to a command prompt on the 3 pc and try to ping one of the other pc's IP addresses. If you get a response from that then you most likely have a authentication issue (make sure C: drive is shared on all pcs.)
command to ping is simply "ping 192.168.1.1(or whatever ip address range you have)"

Good luck
Paul

Trevor Hale
11-03-2007, 10:17 AM
Morning,

When you are in the network neighborhood and you click on the mshome directory, do you see the name of the new computer at all?

There are a couple of things you should check.

Right click on the mycomputer icon on that pc.

goto properties

select computer name

select the change button beside rename this computer

Make sure the computer name is what you want, and that the "Workgroup button is selected and the MSHOME workgroup is in there.

Then,'

Goto the place where you programmed the ip address and click the advanced tab, and be sure that windows firewall is turned off.

If all this is complete and you still have troubles browsing the network, we may need to check some of your switch settings.

The only other thing I can suggest is that you need to right click on the C:\ of your new computer and create a share on you r Hard disk.

There are many possibilities, lets just see where we get from these ones first.

Best regards,

Trev

David Rogers
11-03-2007, 11:33 AM
Thanks for all the suggestions folks :)

I looked at most of them such as Firewall settings, Workgroup settings, re-checked cables, the Switch etc.

Same problem but then I typed the error message into Google and got a result back that said that on some Windows installations the 'File and printer sharing services' installation can be corrupt, which leads to the error I was getting.

Suggestion was to uninstall 'File and printer sharing services' from Network properties, then re-install it.

I did this and it worked !

...hence thought I'd mention the solution here in case others come across this.

So I now I have my 3 x PC network running perfectly (through a Cisco Switch), and I'm in the process of getting a new registration key from Project Magenta, in order to run the EICAS from this 3rd PC. :)

Not bad for someone who knew absolutely zilch about networks just a month ago! - all thanks to the help from people on this site.