PDA

View Full Version : Searching Offset for Engine Fire etc



Jan Pemöller
09-24-2007, 08:46 AM
Hello,

are there any offsets to simulate a fire for:

ENG 1
ENG 2
APU

I need them for my PM Instructor setup.

Best regards
Jan

JBaymore
09-24-2007, 08:51 AM
jan,

Yes there are offsets for engine fires for engine 1-4............but not for the APU (as far as I know). To my knowledge fs2004 does nto USE them though....they are just "there". I am also assuming here that you are not using FSX.

I am not near my copy of the FSUIPC docs...... but they are listed in there in the chart. When I get a chance... I'll post them for you.

best,

................john

Peter Dowson
09-24-2007, 09:37 AM
Yes there are offsets for engine fires for engine 1-4............but not for the APU (as far as I know). To my knowledge fs2004 does nto USE them though....they are just "there". I am also assuming here that you are not using FSX.

The Engine fire flags in FSUIPC will start an engine fire if set: they are both indicators and controls. They work in both FS9 and FSX. Offset 3366, bit0= Engine 1 up to bit3 = Engine 4.

FS9 does not simulate an APU so there's no APU offset. In FSX there are some controls and indicators relating to the APU (there's a fire flag at FSUIPC offset 0B53), but I've not found a way to deliberately start an APU fire.

Regards

Pete

Jan Pemöller
09-24-2007, 09:46 AM
Great Pete!

I will try tonight ...

Best regards
Jan

Jan Pemöller
09-24-2007, 02:23 PM
sorry, but it seems to me that it will not work via pm instructor!

I have put this line into the fail.txt

//failure_description, offset, length, value_fail, value_norm
ENG/FIRE, 3366, .0, 1, 0

or does it not work on ground? I havent tested in flight so far.

Thanks
Jan

Peter Dowson
09-24-2007, 08:51 PM
sorry, but it seems to me that it will not work via pm instructor!

Ah, sorry ... I misled you. I've just re-checked. I'm so used to using FSX now, for the last year or more, that I am getting mixed up.

On FS2004 the 3366 bits are fire indicators, read-only. I don't know how to cause a fire on FS2004.

On FSX the 3366 bits operate both ways and will start a fire if the bits are set to 1 -- even if the engine isn't running!

I am using the facility on FSX, along with the fire subsystem on my 737NG and the logics in the latest pmSystems files for 737.

Regards

Pete

JBaymore
09-24-2007, 09:23 PM
On FS2004 the 3366 bits are fire indicators, read-only. I don't know how to cause a fire on FS2004.

Darn it Pete, after reading your prior posting when I left for work I thought there actually WAS a way to do the fire bit in ACOF. I come home tonight,... and my hopes are crushed. Oh well....... ;) Back to the drawing board. :lol:

best,

...................john

Jan Pemöller
09-25-2007, 04:25 AM
Well,

then we have to build something in PMSYSTEM ;-) or this is the first reason to switch to FSX ;-)))

But to get you right ... in FS2004 it is possible with 3366 to send the warning "Fire" to the PM Engines Page?

Best regards
Jan

P.S. MS-FS is just a game, we always forgott! Even it is possible to fly without any oil - I found out yesterday ... There is a lot of background code missing ...

Peter Dowson
09-25-2007, 06:05 AM
But to get you right ... in FS2004 it is possible with 3366 to send the warning "Fire" to the PM Engines Page?

If there is an engine fire in FS2004, the appropriate bit in 3366 will be set, yes. I use that to trigger the correct indicators, firebell, etc, in my cockpit.

It is just that I know of no programmable way of setting such a fire, as from an instructor's console. I think all you can do for that is set the Fire bit in the 6-pack cautions word in the pmSystems offsets. In my implementation (with PFC driver) that would certainly still light the correct lights and ring the firebell.

Alternatively, find a spare byte and use it as a "fictitious" copy of 3366 and program for "either/or" in pmSystems, so you can react to a "real" fire or one instigated by the instructor.


P.S. MS-FS is just a game, we always forgott! Even it is possible to fly without any oil - I found out yesterday ... There is a lot of background code missing ...Again, you can change that in pmSystems. There are lots of ways of making things fail well enough to stop you flying without oil! ;-). Have a chat with Thomas.

Regards

Pete

sweker
01-29-2008, 06:01 PM
Thanks to this thread, I think I've determined a way for Instructor Station to trigger an engine fire in FS2004...

(1) Set-up Instructor Station with a private offset for an Engine Fire
(2) Update the logic within PMSystems so that when this private offset is triggered it enacts the Fire Warning Light and Fire Bell
(3) Also add a line of logic to PMSystems so that when the Engine Fire offset is active, engine #1 or #2 fails

In this scenerio, the instructor station triggers PM Systems to perform the necessary fire alerts and kills the appropriate engine, rather than the Instructor Station triggering FS directly, which will not work for FS2004. Will try this over the next day or two....Steve

Enrico / Peter / Jonathan / Thomas, feel free to check my logic as this is my first attempt at this. Thanks...

ADD TO 'FAIL.TXT'
ENG1/FIRE, 5532, .0, 1, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5532, .1, 1, 0

ADD TO 'SYSVAR.TXT'
5532 .0 eng1fire
5532 .1 eng2fire

ADD TO 'PMSYS737.LGC'
if eng1fire = 1
sixpackfire = 1
firebell = 1
Eng1Fail = 1
endif

if eng2fire = 1
sixpackfire = 1
firebell = 1
Eng2Fail = 1
endif

if MasterFireSwitch then
firebell = 0
endif

if Eng1Fail = 0
sixpackfire = 0
endif

if Eng2Fail = 0
sixpackfire = 0
endif

Thomas Richter
01-30-2008, 04:49 PM
Why not using the build-in logic ??
Just set the firestatus Offset to 51 or 52 or 53.
All needed indications comes ON and ONLY by pulling the Firehandle the ENG/APU cuts, not before. This part is as well included by setting the variable/Offset, e.g. ENG1 eng1firehandlepull (should be connected to your hardware.

if firestatus = 51
FireHandleEng1 = 1
overheateng1 = 1
firesolenoideng1 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

if firestatus = 52
FireHandleEng2 = 1
overheateng2 = 1
firesolenoideng2 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

if firestatus = 53
FireHandleApu = 1
firesolenoidapu = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

AchillesP
02-04-2008, 05:56 AM
hello,

And for pminstructor we have to add this lines?

ADD TO 'FAIL.TXT'
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 4, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 4, 52, 0

best regards,
Achilles

Thomas Richter
02-04-2008, 06:49 AM
hello,

And for pminstructor we have to add this lines?

ADD TO 'FAIL.TXT'
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 4, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 4, 52, 0

best regards,
Achilles

The Offset is 1 Byte length, not 4 !
5648 1 FireStatus

ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU/FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

flightdeck
02-04-2008, 11:26 AM
Another step done:
I encluded the described offsets into my pmInst Systems/Fail and it works:
When pushing the ENG1/FIRE button the Fire Handle Lights and the Overheat Eng1 indication come on.

But:
A) The engine does not cut, when pulling the handle (as described) and there is no "firebell sound".
B) How can I trigger the firebell sound??? Where is the sound located? Cannot find it in pmSounds ... ?

Thx

Thomas Richter
02-04-2008, 11:42 AM
Another step done:
I encluded the described offsets into my pmInst Systems/Fail and it works:
When pushing the ENG1/FIRE button the Fire Handle Lights and the Overheat Eng1 indication come on.

But:
A) The engine does not cut, when pulling the handle (as described) and there is no "firebell sound".
B) How can I trigger the firebell sound??? Where is the sound located? Cannot find it in pmSounds ... ?

Thx

A) Where are you Cutoff's connected to (hardware)?

B) 5649 .0 FireBell
You have to create your own sound

Thomas Richter
02-04-2008, 11:44 AM
But:
A) The engine does not cut, when pulling the handle (as described)

Thx

What are the Offset where are the Fire Handles connected to?

Bob Reed
02-04-2008, 11:45 AM
Ahhh Beat me to it Thomas..... Thank you for being so active on this site! You have been a lot of help and I want you to know it is appreciated! :p

flightdeck
02-04-2008, 12:16 PM
What are the Offset where are the Fire Handles connected to?

According to TSR Cockpitsystems B737 :-)

5652 eng1firehandlepull ENG1 FIRE HANDLE PULL OFF= CLR BIT 0 / PULL = SET BIT 0

5652 eng1firehandleleft ENG1 FIRE HANDLE LEFT OFF= CLR BIT 1 / LEFT = SET BIT 1

5652 eng1firehandleright ENG1 FIRE HANDLE RIGHT OFF= CLR BIT 2 / RIGHT = SET BIT 2


5652 eng2firehandlepull ENG2 FIRE HANDLE PULL OFF= CLR BIT 3 / PULL = SET BIT 3

5652 eng2firehandleleft ENG2 FIRE HANDLE LEFT OFF= CLR BIT 4 / LEFT = SET BIT 4

5652 eng2firehandleright ENG2 FIRE HANDLE RIGHT OFF= CLR BIT 5 / RIGHT = SET BIT 5


5652 apufirehandlepull APU FIRE HANDLE PULL OFF= CLR BIT 6 / PULL = SET BIT 6

5652 apufirehandleleftright APU FIRE HANDLE LEFT/RIGHT OFF= CLR BIT 7 / LEFT/RIGHT = SET BIT 7


Thanks, Thomas, appreciate your support :!:

AchillesP
02-04-2008, 05:44 PM
The Offset is 1 Byte length, not 4 !
5648 1 FireStatus

ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU/FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

Thomas,

My sixpack fire warn do not light. I use cpflight card. But also I do not see the light at pmsystems. I used the bellow at logics

if firestatus = 51
FireHandleEng1 = 1
overheateng1 = 1
firesolenoideng1 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

if firestatus = 52
FireHandleEng2 = 1
overheateng2 = 1
firesolenoideng2 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

if firestatus = 53
FireHandleApu = 1
firesolenoidapu = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
endif

best regards,
Achilles

Thomas Richter
02-04-2008, 06:53 PM
Thomas,

My sixpack fire warn do not light. I use cpflight card. But also I do not see the light at pmsystems. I used the bellow at logics


Just insert into each part
sixpackfire = 1

AchillesP
02-05-2008, 05:34 AM
Hi Thomas,

Another problem is the firebell. When I activate from pminstuctor the engine fire all lights comes up, also the firebell plays but when I push bellcut out from the fire pnels the bell stops for two seconds and then start again. I do not know in reality if you press also the fire warn switch if the bell must stop. If yes probably with this configuration the bell will not stop.

Pierre24
02-09-2008, 09:27 AM
Hi AchillesP,

I had the same problem, and asked the same question to Thomas....
I found a solution, not the best, but it functions:
under control, you add:

page, FIRE
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU / FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0



Regards

Pierre

flightdeck
02-14-2008, 07:07 AM
Hi guys,
my problem is, that my firebell sound is NOT playing!

I can trigger the engine fire via PM Instructor Station, the firehandle light goes on, but the bell sound is missing. I have already placed a "firebell.wav" in PMSounds and activeted it.

Is there an additional setting necessary?

Pierre24
02-14-2008, 07:17 AM
Hi,

You must add into your soundlist file:

nfirebell,5649, .0, 1, CYC
Best regards

Pierre

flightdeck
02-14-2008, 07:38 AM
Thanks Pierre,
I'll give it a try and report here tomorrow!

AchillesP
02-14-2008, 08:02 AM
In this way, if you enable firestatus from pminstuctor, you are not able to stop the bell. If you push the bellcutout it stops for 2..3 seconds and then starts again. Any solution?

Pierre24
02-14-2008, 09:18 AM
Hi AchillesP,


Again:

I had the same problem, and asked the same question to Thomas....
I found a solution, not the best, but it functions:
PM Instructor: under control, you add:

page, FIRE
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU / FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

Regards

Pierre

jfuenmay
06-28-2008, 03:52 PM
Hi all.

I know this is somewhat an old thread but I just added the console from Cockpitsonics with the fire warning system. Everything
works well with the annunciators etc. BUT the firebell.
There is no firebell.wav file in my pmSounds . Where exactly do I get it
and where should it go?. I undrestand that it should be told that the file exists with the lines to be added posted earlier here.

I read all the posts in this thread and could not find the answer.

Also, in my pmInst failure menu there is only engine fail, not fire.

How do I induce a fire in either engine or APU?. I added the lines
to the control file:

page, FIRE
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU / FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

I run FS2004 with PMDG as a flight model + PM suite. Hardware includes
overhead from FDS and SYS boards. All working fine.

Thanks

AchillesP
06-29-2008, 01:57 PM
Hi all.

I know this is somewhat an old thread but I just added the console from Cockpitsonics with the fire warning system. Everything
works well with the annunciators etc. BUT the firebell.
There is no firebell.wav file in my pmSounds . Where exactly do I get it
and where should it go?. I undrestand that it should be told that the file exists with the lines to be added posted earlier here.

I read all the posts in this thread and could not find the answer.

Also, in my pmInst failure menu there is only engine fail, not fire.

How do I induce a fire in either engine or APU?. I added the lines
to the control file:

page, FIRE
ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU / FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

I run FS2004 with PMDG as a flight model + PM suite. Hardware includes
overhead from FDS and SYS boards. All working fine.

Thanks

Hi,

In this way you have created a new page at pminstructor with the name fire. Try to find this page with the next buttom.

jfuenmay
06-29-2008, 02:15 PM
Thanks. I found it!. However, what about the
firebell??, where do I get the firebell WAV file?

pmSounds does not seem to have it.

AchillesP
06-29-2008, 02:49 PM
Thanks. I found it!. However, what about the
firebell??, where do I get the firebell WAV file?

pmSounds does not seem to have it.

Hi,

If you fly pmdg, go to main sound folder of fs, inside pmdg there is a file with the name firebell. Take this sound and copy it to the pmsounds. Then open pmsounds soundlist.txt and and the follwing line

Firebell, 5540, .0, 1, CYC

jfuenmay
06-29-2008, 07:16 PM
Thank you. The bell rings.
However, I still have problem

When I test the fire warning system via the
Cockpitsonics hardware, the bell rings and
the Master Fire light lights up as well as the sixpack fire,
nevertheless when I induce the engine fire via pmInst
I get the fire handle illuminated and the
bell but the master fire warning does not light
and the sixpack fire does not annunciate.

Could this be the logic in pmSystems?

AchillesP
06-30-2008, 02:38 AM
Thank you. The bell rings.
However, I still have problem

When I test the fire warning system via the
Cockpitsonics hardware, the bell rings and
the Master Fire light lights up as well as the sixpack fire,
nevertheless when I induce the engine fire via pmInst
I get the fire handle illuminated and the
bell but the master fire warning does not light
and the sixpack fire does not annunciate.

Could this be the logic in pmSystems?

Hi,

Of cource you must add at the default logic the bold line.

if firestatus = 51
FireHandleEng1 = 1
overheateng1 = 1
firesolenoideng1 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
sixpackfire = 1
endif

if firestatus = 52
FireHandleEng2 = 1
overheateng2 = 1
firesolenoideng2 = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
sixpackfire = 1
endif

if firestatus = 53
FireHandleApu = 1
firesolenoidapu = 1
firebell = 1
sixpackovhedet = 1
sixpackfire = 1
endif

jfuenmay
06-30-2008, 11:34 AM
Thank you Achilles. I guess I did not go through the postings thouroughly enouh.
Certainly the answer is in previous postings.

I appreciate your help and patience.

I will review everything for the ground up.

It seems to me that the FIRE/ENG failure could be triggered from
both the SYSTEM FAILURES and CONTROL pages in pmInst and
the settings would not the same. Correct me if I'm wrong

I'll sort of play with them.

Thanks again

jfuenmay
07-01-2008, 03:50 PM
Just some feedback.

I finally got it to work properly, or so I think.
I can select both ENGFAIL and ENGFIRE from the Failures page
on pmInst to get both failures to work simultaneously, the catch is
that when ENG2FIRE is triggered both ENG1 and ENG2 fire
handles light up. Is this what is supposed to happen?.

I thought ENG2FIRE would cause a fire in ENG n o 2 not BOTH.

HauptChr
08-01-2008, 05:06 PM
5648 1 FireStatus

ENG1/FIRE, 5648, 1, 51, 0
ENG2/FIRE, 5648, 1, 52, 0
APU/FIRE, 5648, 1, 53, 0

great - now i know how to initiate an engine/apu fire from Instructor station. It works :-)

I also inserted the missing sixpackfire = 1 into the logic file (firestatus 51/52/53)

I use the cockpitsonic firepanel and the cockpitsonic brakeoutboard (flaps instrument) to connect the sixpack. Light Test -> all lights on :-) . Firetest or "real" fire : No sixpackfire :-( (maybe a problem of cockpisonic driver ??)


Presently there are no wires on the microswitches which sense the bottle discharge (cockpitsonic firepanel). If this will be corrected, i think we can extinguish a fire ? Its allready in the logic (e.g. red firehandlelight off which indicates that the engine is no longer burning)?

One very special question : Would it be possible to select from Instructorstation if you need one or two bottles to extinguish the fire ?
How might it be programmed ?


greetings from germany

Christian