PDA

View Full Version : Another insane aviation freak

Yoshi
09-11-2007, 05:44 PM
Hello everybody!

What am I doing here? Why am I here? When do those voices in my head stop whispering to me "go for it... yeah, one day you will find out how to build that [insert random cockpit component here]..."

Some months ago I stumbled over a breathtaking site on the web - there was a crazy guy who built an entire cockpit in his cellar. Fully functional, of course. Still fiddling arround with mouse and keyboard this was kind of a 14 years old boy ;-)

Ok, the next weeks I spent beating the **** out of uncle google, collecting every byte I could get about homebuilt cockpits. Costs? Get lost, don't bother me! Very soon I discovered the first very important - ehrm - thee most important question: what aircraft should I build? Now here's the story of my odyssey:
I work as a system engineer in Salzburg/Austria. Part of my job is to keep servers and clients up and running at Hangar 7 and Hangar 8. Catch the drift? That's where those insane people called Flying Bulls reside, including their incredible collection of old and new aircrafts. So I'm a very lucky aviation freak, almost every week I see the Corsair F4-U, the DC-6B, the Mitchell...
Of course one of the old aircrafts was my first candidate to build: the corsair. It's just so cool... BUT:
It was built to kill human beings. Standing in front of this evil beast looking into those 6 holes in the front edge of the wings you unmistakably realize you're at the wrong end. And of course you'll never be able to simulate the view out of this cockpit - it's a fighter where you can glance in every direction outside. And not to mention flying maneuvres like rolls, loops etc.
So this was a short intermezzo. Conclusion: no fighter, no aerobatics.